Barbara Boxer is a Pretentious Ass

I read today that Senator Barbara Boxer “dressed down” a brigadier general of the US Armed Forced for calling her “ma’am.”  What a royal bitch she must be.

Brigadier General Michael Walsh respectfully referred to her as “ma’am” while testifying to Congress.  Here is her response:

“You know, do me a favor,” a clearly agitated Boxer said. “Could you say ‘senator’ instead of ‘ma’am?”

“Yes, ma’am,” Walsh replied.

“It’s just a thing, I worked so hard to get that title, so I’d appreciate it, yes, thank you,” she said.

“Yes, senator,” he answered.

Beyond the fact that in the military “ma’am” and “sir” are respectful responses that soldiers are taught to give in the military, I was taught as a child to use these forms of respect also.  In fact, I had a cousin who once lamented to me that she was jealous because my parents had taught me to “say things like, ‘Yes Ma’am’ and ‘Yes Sir,’ and she had never benefitted from this type of upbringing.

Words mean things and Webster points out that “ma’am” is a shortening of “madam” which it defines as “used without a name as a form of respectful address to a woman.”  Even Webster says it is respectful.  What is not respectful is talking in this manner to a general in the US military.

But, let’s be honest.  That wasn’t her point.  She simply wanted to set herself up as an adversary to the military while at the same time pointing out to everyone that, “I’m a Senator!  Look at me!”  And that makes her an ass.  And, the fact that she does not have the guts to apologize now that she is being chastised makes her even more of an ass.

This is much more offensive to me than what Letterman did because he was at least trying to make a joke, even if it was misguided.  There’s just nothing funny about what Boxer did.

One Response

  1. “Worked hard to get that title”? What work did she do other than win a popularity contest using other people’s money to fund her campaign? To say that to a general who actually did have to work hard to his title is shameful. Senators need to remember that they are public servants (emphasis on the word servant). Of course, I would expect this type of behavior from the Democratic senator from f-ing California. If I ever meat her you can bet that I’ll address her as Senator C—.

Leave a Reply

