American Idol Top 4, Season 8, Tuesday May 5, 2009 Rock Week!

It seems like they waited a long time to roll out ‘rock week’ this season.  This should help Allison, Adam and Danny more than Kris.  I just hope Adam does not go too over-the-top with this.

The first thing that Ryan told us was that the stage had partially collapsed, and the contestants were not able to have a run-through before the show.  He also informed us that they would be paired up in duets.  I don’t think that I like this at all.

Slash is the perfect mentor for rock week.  I hope Idol is able to get more mentors of this caliber.

Adam Lambert, “Whole Lot of Love”– Hearing Adam sing a rock song is like hearing Lincoln give the Gettysburg Address.  It is simply great, and as it should be.  I’ve given up trying to find faults with his vocals.  There are none.

The judges completely gushed over it.  Simon said that it could not be topped.

Allison Iraheta, “Cry Baby”– Her voice suited this song perfectly.  It may have been a little screechy, but the style of the song absorbed it well.  I thought it was the best song she has sung in the entire competition.  The vocal was also perfect.

The judges were mixed at best.  I thought their critiques were pretty confusing, and I’ll be surprised if she gets anything useful out of them.

Duet: Kris Allen and Danny Gokey, “Renegade”– This duet put all the group songs in the history of the show to shame.  The harmonies were great.  I thought they were both very good, and I just hope the judges do not split hairs to try to determine which one was the better of the two.

The judges were generally positive.  Simon had to pick Danny over Kris.

Kris Allen, “Come Together”– I thought it was a very passable version of this song.  It was another vocal that I did not have one problem with.  Once again, we are splitting hairs at this point.  The question is which song is greater, and I liked the first two better

Randy liked it.  Kara and Simon did not like it and were overly critical.  Simon was right in comparing it to a jam.

Danny Gokey, “Dream On”– The scream in practice was simply bad.  In the performance, he brought the key so far down that it seemed to suck a lot of the life out of the song.  It was OK for most of the song, but the scream at the end was horrendous.  He should have sang a straight-up rock and roll song.  Aerosmith is way, way out of his league.  Adam can sing Aerosmith, and he is the only one up there that can.

The judges did not like it, but were sort of apologetic.  Simon saying, “I think you are going to be safe,” and Paula calling for a shout out from Danny’s fans seemed a little inappropriate.  How many Kris fans do we have in the house?  I guess we’ll never know because that question was never asked.

Adam Lambert and Allison Iraheta, “Slow Ride”– This was another good duet, but I did not hear near as much harmony as I did in the other duet.  For that reason, I thought the first one was better than the second one.

The judges liked this one better.

I hope Danny goes home because he was simply not as good as the rest tonight.  I’ll probably be wrong about that.

Leave a Reply

