American Idol Top 5, Season 8, Tuesday April 28, 2009 Rat Pack Night!

Tonight’s theme was ‘Standards from the Rat Pack Era’.  That was sort of a scary theme for the show.  For some reason, Jamie Foxx was the mentor, and Ryan went out of his way to convince us that Foxx is a musician.  But, shouldn’t the mentor have a few skins on the wall?  I guess Lady Gaga will be the mentor next week.
I don’t know what Paula was wearing, but it looked like she had two giant sets of red lips on top of her boobs.  Who dresses the people?  I’ve got a scary feeling that the wardrobes are just another product placed in the show, but these are being sold by awful designers who see their professions as a bit.
Kris Allen, “The Way You Look Tonight”– I knew he could sing this song well, and he did not let me down.  It was a little slow, but his vocal was perfect.  The inflection was great.  When then beat kicked in, I did not love it a much, but it ended very well.
The judges also loved it, except for Simon.

Allison Iraheta, “Someone To Watch Over Me”– The was a good choice for her.  Her affected style should fit right in.  Her smokers voice showed through a little, in a was I did not like, and she had very little diction.  This was probably because she put an ‘H’ sound at the beginning of all her words.  The notes, however, were very good.

The judges loved it, and Kara called for her to be in the finals.  Why don’t we back that train up a little, and let her have more than one great performance before we do that.  Simon was less impressed and said that she could be trouble.

Matt Giraud, “My Funny Valentine”– When I heard that he was singing this song, I thought, “What?  What a weird song for a guy to sing.”  I also remembered Melinda singing this so well a couple of years ago, and wondered if he had a chance of doing as well as she did.  Jamie Foxx called him back ‘after the cameras were done filming’, but they were obviously still filming, because I was watching it.  So, confusing.

His vocal was the best that I have heard him sing, and the best of the night so far.  Greatness.

Obviously Randy and Kara decided that it was time for Matt to go.  Kara with a comment that can only be described as one of the most incredibly backward statements ever uttered on the show said that it was unemotional.  Simon loved it.

Danny Gokey, “Come Rain or Come Shine”– Jamie Foxx was a crazy person as he gave advice for this song.  There was nothing to really to complain about in this song.  The vocal was good, but this song came across like a lounge act.  It was definitely not a vocal showcase for him.  When the beat picked up, I expected him to start stripping.  It was alright, but not my favorite song that he has sung.

Kara is starting to beat me.  The judges loved it.  I must be having an off night.

Adam Lambert, “Feelin’ Good”– I don’t even know how to critique this guy.  He is just too good.  It’s O….ver!

The judges loved it once again.

If I have to pick someone to go home, I will pick Allison.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

