American Idol Top 7 part 2, Season 8, Tuesday April 21, 2009 Disco Night!

Find my latest American Idol article here.

It’s Disco Night on Idol, and while this would normally scare me, I find myself looking forward to hearing Kris and Adam.  Adam has already proved he can sing disco with “Funky Town”, and Kris has shown that he can sing Michael Jackson, and if you can do his stuff, you can sing disco.  Adam looked like he was going to sing something from Saturday Night Fever, and I found myself getting excited to hear it.

Lil Rounds, “I’m Every Woman”- She had absolutely no diction.  I couldn’t understand a word that she said, so I would not know if she even got the lyrics right.  She was flat again, and overall, it sounded like a train wreck.  I hated that.  She is like a stale loaf of bread.  Time to through her out.

Paula apologized for her, but the rest of judges hated it as much as I did.

Kris Allen, “She Works Hard for the Money”- I thought he could sing this, but I didn’t know if the judges would accept him singing it.  It was weird with a reggae beat.  He was a little flat at times in the verses.  He sang the rest of the song well, but in the end, it just seemed off-balance to me with a strange sound that made you pay more attention to that fact than his performance.  He definitely made it his own.

The judges loved it in a Santana sort of way.

Danny Gokey, “September”- He screamed the first note, and did not get completely on top of it, but then he did a very passable job of an Earth, Wind and Fire song.  It was really good.

The judges mostly liked it a lot, but Simon felt it was awkward.

Allison Iraheta, “Hot Stuff”- My first question was, “Where is the Duesenberg that she stole the inner tube she was wearing from?”  However, the vocal and performance were great, if a little screamy.

The judges liked the vocal, but did not love the arrangement as much.

Adam Lambert, “If I Can’t Have You”- I knew he could sing the Bee Gees if anyone could.  The song started out slow, and beautiful.  The verses were great, but the chorus was a little overdone.  That being said, it was as amazing as ever.  This contest is over.  Period.

The judges barely contained themselves.  Paula might have been crying.

Matt Giraud, “Stayin’ Alive”- This was very interesting version of a Bee Gees song.  He kept the feel and beat of a Bee Gees song while singing it in his rough-voiced style.  He was on pitch, and his diction was amazing.  I liked it a lot.

The judges were mixed.  Simon seemed a little overly harsh.

Anoop Desai, “Dim All The Lights”- The vocal was spot on, but the arrangement seemed like Billy Ocean sings Donna Summer.  It was OK, but I did not like arrangement.

The judges except for Simon liked it a lot.  Simon thought it was mediocre and horrible.  He was also a little harsh.

Lil Should go, but who knows who the other one will be.  I guess it will probably be Matt or Kris.  I just hope it is not Kris or Danny.

Leave a Reply

