American Idol Top 8 Results Show, Season 8, Wednesday April 8, 2009

Find my latest American Idol article here.

For some reason the judges did not seem to know that Frankie Avalon was going to be on the show tonight.  Right.  Unfortunately, he had old, tired voice.

I think the group song might have been live again tonight because it was the musical train wreck that we have come to expect from the show.  I hope that was not the best recorded version of that song that they could produce.

Then we were abused by the musical stylings of Flo Rida.  For a show where the judges are so in tune with the types of songs that its audience wants to hear, I find it hard to believe that they do not know better than to force the same musical abominations on their audience every week.  I am completely sure that they do this on purpose and knowingly at the expense of their audience.  I am not sure, however, why they do it.  Either these groups and their labels are paying Fox an ungodly amount of money for this service and exposure, or these groups must be from labels that Fox has some monetary stake in.  No other explanation makes sense, because I am sure Idol could have its pick of legitimate artists.

Kelly Pickler was on the show tonight.  I guess the show blew its wad having Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood and Davis Cook in the last few weeks.  Her voice was whiny and screechy in a way that affected your back for most of the song.  She was off pitch, and when the verses went down the song got too low for her.  It was a mess.  I don’t think I will be wasting any money on tickets to one of her shows anytime soon.

When it came time to kick someone off, Ryan’s feeble attempts to be clever and add suspense to the show were more clumsy than ever.  I was surprised to see that Anoop was in the bottom three, but I guess he didn’t really do anything to stand out from the pack.  It was no surprise to see Scott join them. Then Lil joined the other two, and I wasn’t surprised. 

I was surprised (and disappointed) to hear the judges say that they would use their save on one of these contestants.  I assume they are talking about Lil, but it is time for them to drop their agenda.  She is just not that good of a singer, and it is time for her to go in the next couple of weeks.

Of course, she got to sit down as soon as Pickler sang.  Scott was off the show, and the world was right.  There was no judges save for Scott, though they threatened it.

2 Responses

  1. Nice web, thank you for information 😉

Leave a Reply

