American Idol Top 10 Season 8 March 25, 2009

Find my latest American Idol article here.

It was Motown Night on American Idol last night, and I thought the guests, Berry Gordy and Smokey Robinson were once again great.  Early on, I found myself wondering why Paula was wearing a tutu, then when she later showed us that she had brought props (crayons and coloring books) for Simon’s benefit, I was sure that she had gone completely over the edge.

Matt Giraud, “Let’s Get It On”– This was the perfect choice of song for him.  I thought he played the piano very well, and that he showed a lot of soul as he sang the song.  The falsetto was good, but he was a little flat a couple of times, and it was nowhere near as good as last week’s performance.

The Judges liked it a lot.

Kris Allen, “How Sweet It Is”– I did not like the very beginning, but when he hit the first verse, I thought it was great.  The song only had a few different notes, but he hit the big one at the end.

Once again, the judges liked it a lot.

Scott MacIntyre, “You Can’t Hurry Love”– He started out with a slow version of the song that sounded like everything else he has done on the program so far.  It also seemed thin without all of the traditional instrumentation that one expects with this song.  The vocal was, however, very good toward the end.

The judges were very mixed both positively and negatively with Simon being a little hypercritical.

Megan Joy, “For Once In My Life”– As I heard her practicing the song, I just wanted to put my hands on either side of my head and squeeze until it popped.  The live performance was only slightly better.  The high note at the end of the first chorus was painfully out of tune.  She screamed her notes, and as always was way too affected for me.

The judges deservedly criticized it with Randy deeming it a ‘train wreck’.

Anoop Desai, “Ooh, Baby Baby”– I thought when I heard that he was singing this that he had chosen a very hard song that is hard to hold the pitch on.  For the most part, he sang it well, but it was dreary as it plodded along.

The judges were split between those who liked the vocal, and those who thought it was boring.

Michael Sarver, “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg”– I thought it was his best vocal performance yet, and I think I like him singing the blues better than country.  Unfortunately, he has the stage presence of a block of wood.

Also unfortunately for him, the judges did not like it at all.

Lil Rounds, “Heat Wave”– This week should have been right in her wheelhouse, but I thought she failed.  The song was not perfect or on pitch, and worse, it only seemed to have one note in it.  She screamed the whole time.

Paula (obviously high by this time) liked it, but the other judges did not.

Adam Lambert, “The Tracks of My Tears”– Elvis was apparently in the building last night as Lambert decided to become a heart-throb over night.  He looked much better, but that was not the best part.  His voice was amazing, and the falsetto was off the charts.  His slowed down interpretation of the song was simply beautiful.

The judges raved about it.

Danny Gokey, “Get Ready”– He showed, once again, that this is really the Adam/Danny show.  The vocal was perfect (especially his diction), and his dancing with the back up singers was fun.

Everyone loved it but Simon who seemed mad about something (maybe Paula).

Allison Iraheta, “Papa Was a Rolling Stone”– I always think she is too affected, but she sang it very well.  Her diction was great, and I thought it was the perfect song for her.

The judges loved it.

One Response

Leave a Reply

