American Idol Results Show March 11, 2009, Season 8

Find my latest American Idol article here.

What the hell do I know?  I tried to predict the rules change, and was flat wrong about it.  However, I may have liked my idea better.  There is something off about the Judges’ Save Rule, which I will refer to as the “America Got It Wrong Rule.”  I will wait and see what happens, but I can’t imagine this not ending in a train wreck.  And, how is America going to treat contestant after the have already been given the boot, but have forced back upon them?  We’ll see.

The Jackson Five group song, while not a terrible vocal, was simply audio and visual vomit.  I hated it.  And the guest singers were just as bad.  Kanye West came out with a song that featured an echo so long that the vocal overlapped while being sung through a voice harmonizer.  Just so you know, there is nothing cool about that, and it is worse than gimmicky.  Kelly Clarkson tried (and failed) to prove to the audience that black is indeed slimming.  Someone needs to apologize to Jessica Simpson.  Then, Kelly sang a song with the wonderful (sarcastic) lyric, “My Life Would Suck Without You.”  I am sure her album would suck less, as well as her sagging career, if she would spend a little more time choosing songs with better lyrics than this.

I was actually surprised to see Jorge go this early, but he definitely was not one of the best.  And Jasmine, though I had high hopes for her, just never had a good performance after Hollywood Week.

On another note, every time a black person gets kicked off Idol, I get hits on my “American Idol Racist?” post from last year.  I made a good case against racism being a factor on the show then.  The problem that I have now, is that I’m tired of it.  Not everything that happens to a black person is racist.  It’s just not.  And to go around swinging this ridiculous bat at times like this not only lessens the impact of true acts of racism, but is just as bad, or worse, than a true racist act.  It happens too often, and it is shameful just like true racism is.

Leave a Reply

