Come On, Fox News!

I have to throw an offsides flag on Foxnews for using the very unfortunate and unnecessary headline, “Good Spirit, Poor Execution” for their story about a group of Texas cheerleaders who recently performed a skit portraying the execution style killing of rival cheerleaders. 

If Foxnews wants their reporting to be taken seriously, then they must treat their stories in a more serious manner.  Placing this headline on this story is, on the one hand, tabloid, and on the other hand, just as irresponsible and insensitive as the skit that was done by the cheerleaders themselves. 

I used to listen to Limbaugh, but eventually I stopped for two reasons.  First, I felt that he was simply preaching to the choir, but later, I realized that I couldnot talk to anyone about things I heard on his show because sometimes he ran with an unsubstantiated rumor, and if I did reference his show in a conversation, it could affect another person’s opinion of me.  I’m beginning to have similar feelings of Foxnews.

Unfortunately, Fox does not work hard enough at appearing to be a legitimate media outlet.  This places their readers and viewers in the position of having to filter the information that they get through Foxnews.  What bothers me the most, is that there is no conservatively leaningmedia alternative to force Foxnews to take itself more seriously.  For people like myself, they hold an ideological monopoly.

3 Responses

  1. I’d have to agree with your last paragraph entirely (except the last sentence, only because I am not a conservative) 🙂

    I’m glad conservatives are beginning to voice their disgust with Fox News. It would be good to have an actual conversation about politics in the media, and not to be yelling or screaming. I think both sides as far as pundits go are guilty of this, but Fox is the only “news” network that is basically a machine for a political party.

  2. If you have a lexis-nexis account, try and look up how often an outlet of News Corp (like Fox News) gets sued for just butchering the facts — and occasionally in such a way that it ruins lives or businesses.

    Fox News makes a lot of very reasonable republicans look ridiculous.

    One Love,
    –Reverend Manny

  3. Let me clarify a point here. I am not exempting any other media from this criticism. CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, The New York Times, The LA Times, and especially MSNBC, all may have something to say about Bell’s statement that “Fox is the only ‘news’ network that is basically a machine for a political party.” These other media outlets showed themselves to not only be party hacks, but for the most part they were hacks of the Obama campaign even before the primary season was over. Just ask Hillary.
    The difference is that these media outlets claim to be unbiased while being nothing but biased. Fox, on the other hand, claims to be ‘fair and ballanced.’ They do show both sides of most issues (which the other media outlets do not even pretend to do for the most part), but it is with a conservative bent, which does not bother me. I just want Foxnews to be more professional and less tabloid in the rest of their reporting. Maybe a little less following Caylee’s mom around would be nice.

Leave a Reply

