Baby, I can’t help it that I’m crazy, I was just born that way.

I have kept no secret of my general disdain of psychologists and the field of psychology in general.  Like a lot of people, I can say that I was a psych major for three semesters in college.  The throw-it-against-the-wall-and-see-if-it-sticks mentality of many psychologists and especially researchers in the field of psychology left me with a bad taste in my mouth.  Someday, when I have a lot more time to expound on this I will, but for now, suffice it to say that I believe, for the most part psychologist are people who attempt to find emotional solutions to spiritual problems.  Don’t get me wrong, I know there are seriously chemically imbalanced people in this world who need to be medicated or institutionalized even in some cases, but you have to go to psychiatrist (medical doctor) for this to happen.  Also, I believe that there are some people for whom common sense counseling and caring can have a real, positive effect, but unfortunately, most of the time psychologists are more worried about propping up a persons feelings whether they are helping the person or not, and extending their sessions which translates to money in the bank.  I’ve said it before, I’ll start taking psychologists more seriously when they are able to get their divorce rate down somewhere near the national average (the divorce rate for psychologists is around 70% while the national average is about 55%).

Researchers in the field of psychology are famous as empire builders.  They continually try to come up with new diagnoses in order to expand their authority, their business, and their ability to file claims for insurance on behalf of their clients.  Today, we are greeted with a study done by researchers in the field of psychology arguing that insanity or even ‘moderate mood swings’ may be the result of evolution as affected by the process of natural selection.  Make no mistake, while this looks like an interesting theory, it is really another power-grab by the psychology field.  If they can say that some, most or even all aspects of our personality are determined by genetics, then they will be able to greatly increase their sphere of influence, diagnoses and treatments.  Cha-ching. 

Sometimes I feel like these guys are driving me crazy, but wait, according to them I was just born that way. 

On a side note, I find it odd that all of this natural selection stuff has not been used by homosexual advocacy groups up to this point, but it’s pretty obvious that homosexuality and natural selection are logical enemies.

Leave a Reply

