The Mole Season 5

I watch a lot of reality TV.  I have watched all of the seasons of the Mole.  I watch Survivor, the Amazing Race, American Idol, and others.  I liked the Mole when it first came out, that was until Anderson Cooper left the show.  The new host is not terrible, and God knows he is better than Ahmad Rashad, but this season seems like it is missing something, it just is not on par with the other seasons as far as the production goes.

I may be a little vain, but I consider myself to be a fairly smart guy, and my own intelligence thwarts my enjoyment of many of these shows.  TV producers are obviously not smart people for the most part, or are not nearly as smart as they think they are, or perhaps they have too much contempt for their audience.  I say this because many of these shows have a tendency to telegraph the outcome of the episode through the way that it is put together.  Survivor does a better job than it used to, but for a few seasons there in the middle, I could tell you the outcome of any episode about five minutes in.  For example, the producers love irony.  If anyone ever makes a statement like, “Boy, I’m in control now,” You can bet they will not see the next episode.

That being said, I always thought the producers of the Mole did a better job hiding who the mole was and showing other people (often willing participants) who act like the Mole on purpose.  This season they continually show people half-heartedly accusing fellow competitors of being the Mole, but a lot of the time it comes off like they are being told to say these kinds of things to the camera whether they make sense or not.

This week, they showed a couple of clips of people accusing Victoria of being suspicious and alluding to the fact that she was the Mole.  She obviously was more emotionally invested in the game and relationships with her competitors than anyone else on the show.  Including these half-hearted accusations only telegraphed the fact to the audience that she was a prime candidate to leave the show. 

This was not the best producing, but that is my point.  This season is an example of a step backward in the production value of the Mole.  The best example I can think of is that the exercises performed by the contestants on a weekly basis tend to major on physical feats rather than mental prowess.  Past seasons have included many more riddles, and opportunities for the contestants who actually use their minds to get ahead.  This kind of stuff takes a lot of work from the producers, though, and is definitely not as easy as putting a bunch of hot girls in short-shorts and letting them prance around for a full episode (though there is something to be said for that.  In fact, I vote for both).

I have debated whether or not to write a post on this now, or wait till later.  If I do wait till later, I will get no credit for the things I am about to say, but if I write it now, and am wrong, then I will look stupid.  Since, I am the administrator of this blog, I will go for it now, and if I am wrong, I will rewrite history (or erase it) later.  I think that the poor production along with the choice of a bad actress has exposed the Mole from the beginning.  Nicole is a poor actress at best.  The first episode was poorly thought out and put together.  She made decisions and comments that no rational person would make, and demonstrated inside knowledge through these decisions that put her in a position for an advantage.  The only way she does the things that she does on the first episode is if she is given information by the producers.  While I do not put anything past a group of TV producers, I do believe that it would be a legal stretch for them to provide insider information to one of the contestants.  Nicole also has made statements like, “I’ll kill you.”  This is very mole-like behavior, and her bad acting looks like someone who actually is the mole trying to act like someone who is trying to act like the mole (follow that?).  For this reason, I am going to predict now that she is the mole, and if she is, shame on her and the producers for doing an aweful job.  But, if she is not, then I’ll retract, and I’ll actually like it better.

 

One Response

  1. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

