Crazy Days

It has been a couple of crazy weeks.  It started with the trip to Sea World two weekends ago.  During that weekend, my uncle died and I was asked to deliver ‘the message’ at his funeral last Wednesday.  My In-laws arrived Thursday evening to assist with things because my wife was having surgery Friday morning.

We woke up at 5:45 to go to the Hospital.  This is my normal time to wake up for work, but it seemed wrong to have to wake up so early if I was not going to have to go to work.  The procedure went well, according to the doctors, and she was released at 10:30 the next morning.  It only took the nurses about five more hours to get the paperwork to us which my wife recognized as papers that had been on her chart the whole time.  Maybe it took them five hours to find a wheelchair in the hospital.

The last few days have been spent entertaining the in-laws.  They have been helpful, but the between the trip, the funeral, hosting the in-laws, the four and a half days off and a holiday over the past two weeks, the eating out has been through the roof.  This is not good for a diet.  No matter how much you attempt to make good choices on a diet, food prepared at restaurants tends to have more calories and fat (and other things that you don’t want on a diet) than foods you prepare at home.

The exercise also took a big hit over the past two week.  Walking much of the day at Sea World was good, but much of that walking was very slow, and did not compare with the pace I set when I am walking to lose weight.  I did not walk while I was preparing for the funeral either.  Honestly, I was preoccupied with trying to come up with something good to say, and calling many of my relatives for information.  The day and a half that I was actually at work this week Left me no time for exercise.  I had to clean up from being off for two days, and prepare to be off two more days.  The hospital was even worse.  I felt like I needed to be in the room giving my wife and her family as much support as I could.  This meant sitting in the same chair with only moments of walking for short distances to refill my coffee cup for two days.

I made it a point to take my family to the park on Sunday and Monday.  It was not as much fun as usual.  Normally, my wife and I park at the City Hall and walk the greenbelt to the park and back.  This ends up being about a mile and a half each way.  The baby stays interested with the scenery and we get our exercise.  She also gets to play, once we get to the park, which she loves.  This time I drove straight to the park because my wife is on light duty, and the mother-in-law cannot walk well.  This meant that I had to leave the ‘fun’ and go off to walk on my own while they entertained the baby at the park.  By the time I returned, they were all pretty much ready to go.  I did not realize how much I would miss having them along with me on the walk or how much I would miss being seeing my little girl have fun while she was at the park.

The purpose of all of this is to justify the diet numbers that I have cranked out over the past two weeks.  I put on another pound this week, but all things considered, I actually expected to gain more.  Things should be getting back to normal now, and it’s time to get serious about this again.  I took the time to prepare my lunch for this week, and I plan to make time to exercise every day.

Turning it all into a positive, I feel like I have weathered the biggest storm of the diet so far without too much damage.  I currently weigh 265 and have lost 94 pounds total.  I am 45 pounds away from my reevaulation weight of 200, and am now making a goal to reach that weight before my birthday in late October.

 

Leave a Reply

