The Long Haul

I have definitely come too far at this point to turn back as far as my weight is concerned, but the heady and unrealistic goals (maybe more accurately said as dreams) that I had of the weight continuing to fall off rapidly are not meeting the harsh reality that it just does not work that way.

I want to preface this by saying that I am very pleased with my accomplishments so far, and in no way feel let down.  I have consistently met and exceeded my goals throughout this program.

I have lost an incredible 94 pounds in the last 17 weeks.  Tomorrow will mark the four month point since I began the diet.  That means I have averaged losing 23.5 lbs a month for four months.  It’s great, but it is no number for me to set my goals by.

The harsh reality is that with all weight loss programs there is a certain degree of diminishing returns as you go along.  Broken down into four week increments, I lost 33, 22, 16 and 20 lbs respectively over the first 16 weeks of the diet.  The last four weeks, I did a little better than the four weeks before it, but overall, there has been a significant decline in the amount of weight that I have lost.  This week’s three pound loss after a week of working out fairly hard, underscores the point, that I cannot keep using the amount of weight I lose to set benchmarks for the coming weeks.

I have increased both the time and the impact of my workouts, but I am getting to the point where they are what they will be.  I cannot work in any more time, and they are getting pretty strenuous.

What I am going to do now is to change my focus a little from how much I have lost, to how much I have left to lose.  Losing 94 lbs is great, but looking at what’s left, I only have 45 lbs to lose in order to reach my reevaluation goal of 220 lbs.  I will now concentrate on chipping away that 45 lb pound number until it gets to zero.  If it takes three more months to get there, so be it.  I am not going to let my attitude change.

 

Leave a Reply

