Coffee

I have taken up a vice as I started this diet.  In the mornings, I have started drinking a four cup pot of coffee.  I think this has been a big part of my success.  I have always liked coffee, black with cream, sugar or both, but I have always been able to take or leave it, and still feel that way.  However, I find that having the coffee when I get to the office in the morning has several benefits.

First, I am able to put something hot and refreshing in my stomach at the beginning of the day.  I do not eat breakfast (I know this flies in the face of most dietary wisdom, but it works for me), and this keeps me from getting hungry before lunch.

Second, the energy that I get from the caffeine is nice in the mornings. And three, I feel that drinking something with zero calories in the early mornings wakes up my metabolism and helps me to start burning calories (I am not a physician, and this is just my opinion).

As far as liquids in general go, I am drinking Coffee, iced tea and water.  Recently I have started drinking an occasional Diet Dr. Pepper.  I don’t know if it’s just the passing of time since I have had anything with sugar in it, but I really like the Diet Dr Pepper.  I do not drink milk, juice or anything with sugar in it.  These drinks are a great way to ruin a diet.

 

Update: I lost 4 lbs. this week, and am now at 288.  This puts me at 71 pounds lost in 12 weeks, and more importantly, I am more that half way to my goal.

Leave a Reply

