Supercharge Your Metabolism: I Can Make You Thin, Part 4

Finally, I found something in this presentation that applies to me and the program that I am on.  Unfortunately, it is something I was already doing and have already experienced success with.

There was not so much recap and cheerleading at the beginning of the program this week, which was refreshing.  Paul then announced that he would be teaching the viewer to “supercharge” his metabolism.  Through this program we will be able to “burn fat without joining a gym.”  We will “program our brain and body to speed up metabolism.”  He was correct to tell us that metabolism is not fixed, and then promised that “tonight we are going to speed up your metabolism.”

He encouraged his audience to use his method, and stop starving ourselves through dieting.  He (I think correctly) informed us that starving ourselves through dieting causes our bodies to slow their metabolisms.  By doing this, we train our bodies to store fat.

He continues to refer to the professionals who support his program as scientists.  Rubens is an MD.  This is not the type of person I generally associate with being a scientist in the research sense.  I guess if we are splitting hairs, then my Bachelors of Science in Education would make me a scientist too.  Maggie Carroll is a Marriage and Family Therapist.  I already exposed the issues with Roger Callahan in another post.  These things bother me.  I want to see some numbers, facts and real scientists that back up his claims.  The language in the decision involving a lawsuit from the Federal Trade Commission against Callahan deals directly with some of the methods that Paul McKenna uses and directly comments that they should never be confused with science (http://www.ftc.gov/os/1998/04/callahan.do.htm ).  I did, however, agree with Carroll when she said, “All you have to do is burn more calories than you are consuming to loose weight.”  This just makes sense.

McKenna, then got heavily into the benefits of exercise to a weight loss program.  As he said, exercise is one of the best ways to loose weight (I, personally, would have preferred if he had refrained from the reference to sex as exercise in that room).  The most useful things that I have gotten from the program so far were the numbers that he presented about walking. 

I have been walking about an hour a day since early in my program (I worked my way up to this for a couple of weeks).  I actually own a pedometer, and had not even thought about using it to gauge how I am doing.  He told the audience that most overweight people do not walk as far fit people (6000 steps a day to 4000 steps a day).  I buy that.  These are firm numbers that I can use.  For the next week, I plan to wear the pedometer and see how far I am walking on a daily basis.

He then began to deal with people’s perceptions of exercise.  It is true that many people do think negatively about exercise, but this is the part of the program that took a left turn for me once again.  He pulled out the finger and thumb association thing again this week.  He then attempted to use this method to link his viewers’ feelings of pleasure and compulsion (his word) to pressing their right thumb and middle finger together.  I have stated before, that I am out on this stuff.  Please read my other posts for my reasons.  In the first week, I commented that his program would work well for the OCD crowd.  I guess I hit that nail on the head. 

I also think this would work well for people who have low self-esteem (which may be a lot of overweight people). These people probably do not have the faith in themselves to believe that they can lose weight on their own.  His program takes that responsibility away from them, and puts it, oddly enough, on their thumb and middle finger (and Paul McKenna, of course).  I hope it works for them.

This program his solidified for me that the most important aspect of my program is discipline.  He uses the word motivation when he talks about his system, and I have dealt with my motivations in another post.  His followers do not have to have a lot of discipline.  They are training themselves ‘externally’ rather than disciplining themselves ‘internally’.  He also spoon-feeds their entitlement attitude by continually dealing with the feelings of his audience.  That is what the whole thumb/finger thing is about: catering to and modifying one’s feelings. 

For me, weight loss is all about discipline, from preparation to implementation.  How I feel is irrelevant. Sure there are days when I do not feel as well as others, but if I have the time and opportunity, I still get out and walk for an hour.  I just may not push myself as hard as when I feel great, but I still put in the time.

I have no cravings for bad things because these things simply are not an option for me. I eat well, and the things that I prepare are things that I would think tasted good whether I was on a diet or not, they are just good for me, and they fill me up.  This helps keep my metabolism going.  When I think of what I am going to have for dinner, I build a craving toward that thing throughout the day, and when it comes time to eat, I feel full and content with my meal.

Paul and I use some of the same ideas in our programs, but there is a fundamental difference in responsibility and the amount of food that is eaten.

Paul McKenna Stuff

I Can Make You Thin With Paul McKenna

I Can Make You Crazy With Paul McKenna

Who Is Paul McKenna Anyway?

I Can Make You Thin- Busting Your Carvings

I Can Make You Thin- Supercharge Your Metabolism

I Can Make You Thin, Part 5- Your Perfect Body

Lists

5 Responses

  1. I appreciate your unbiased view of Mckenna’s techniques. I do think however, that you are not truly qulaified to evaluate the benefit of the program. Your statements:

    “For me, weight loss is all about discipline, from preparation to implementation. How I feel is irrelevant. Sure there are days when I do not feel as well as others, but if I have the time and opportunity, I still get out and walk for an hour. I just may not push myself as hard as when I feel great, but I still put in the time.

    I have no cravings for bad things because these things simply are not an option for me. I eat well, and the things that I prepare are things that I would think tasted good whether I was on a diet or not, they are just good for me, and they fill me up. This helps keep my metabolism going. When I think of what I am going to have for dinner, I build a craving toward that thing throughout the day, and when it comes time to eat, I feel full and content with my meal.”

    You do not have the life experience of emotional eating, cravings, and living to eat versus eating to live. Over weight people – we are talking morbidly obesed that have had a lifetime battle with weight – can not even comprehend “weight loss is all about discipline, from preparation to implementation”. They would probably do anything short of dying to think and feel the way you have described.

    Over weight people are looking for a new way of thinking – as Mckenna states to learn to think like a thin person. What you describe is exactly what Mckenna claims to try to teach people, he has some unorthodox ways of going about it.

    I welcome his new approach, it is a great alternative to gastric bypass which is how I lost my weight. I still battle with thinking like a fat person although I have been thin for 7 years. I am going to follow his program, not to loose weight so much as to change the way I think: food, excercise, self image.

  2. I have been drinking at least 90oz of water daily for 5 years now and I also intake a lot of veggies and fresh fruits. In order to speed up my metabolism I even ate 5 small meals a day 3 hours apart (3-hour diet/south beach/you on a diet). I even exercised daily. I did lose weight and haven’t gained it back.

    But those programs weren’t able to change my thinking about food or my habits. Even though Paul says we can eat whatever we want….I still choose to eat healthier foods because I enjoy them.

    Also I am happier and feel lighter all day long. Not because I am thinking about it or pressing my thumb and finger together. It is because I am actually not forced to eat every 3-hours and I am not bloated or feeling full all day long. That alone has made a difference in how I feel.

    Paul’s techniques work for me. Might not be everyones cup of tea.

  3. […] To: Mileah, who commented on my article, Supercharge Your Metabolism: I Can Make You Thin, Part 4 […]

  4. I noticed that this is not the first time you write about the topic. Why have you decided to touch it again?

  5. I wrote several articles on Paul McKenna last year. They can all be found under the category, I Can Make You Thin With Paul McKenna above,

Leave a Reply

