Mom’s Vegetable Soup

I thought I would share some of the recipes that have helped make this diet a success. I am a soup lover.  There are few things that are heartier than a warm bowl of soup, and many soups are big on flavor while being low on caloric intake.  This is just the kind of food that can make a diet successful.  I like food that is filling and big on taste and at the same time low in calories.

Three things that I have found to be indispensable in cooking for my diet are, a pressure cooker, a large slow cooker (6 quart or better) and a large cooking pot.  I have a nice 11 quart porcelain model (they are expensive, but great for soups and such).

My mother makes a great vegetable soup that I have made a staple of this diet.  It is the kind of thing I could eat everyday, and I have made it for my lunch at least every other week since this diet began.  I hope you like it as much as I do.

Mom’s Vegetable Soup

2 lbs of stew meat

2 15 oz. cans tomato sauce

4 beef bullion cubes

1 bag of baby carrots (chopped up small)

3 medium sized potatoes (small cubes)

1-2 small bags of mixed vegetables (carrot, green beans, corn, peas, lima beans)

1 ½ large onions (chopped)

Salt

Pepper

Red pepper flakes (optional)

Water

Canola spray

Take your stew meat and drop it in the pressure cooker (it doesn’t even have to be thawed).  Salt and pepper the meat and put about ½ inch of water in the bottom of the pan.  Pressure the meat for about 40 minutes.

While that is cooking, spray a little canola spay in a large soup pot and add your onions, salt and pepper.  Cook onions for about 5 minutes.  Add carrots and cook for about ten more minutes.  Deglaze with water if it begins to stick to pan (a little browning is a good thing, but don’t burn). Add tomato sauce, bullion and vegetables.  Add enough water to bring the level up to the top of the vegetables.  Also add red pepper flakes at this point (I like a lot).  Cook for about 20 minutes.  Add stew meat, and the potatoes (be sure to add the liquid from the stew meat- tons of flavor).  Salt and pepper to taste.  Cook for 30 minutes to an hour, until the potatoes are tender.  Enjoy.  It also freezes great.

Leave a Reply

