Who is Paul McKenna, anyway?

I decided to see what I could find out about Paul McKenna the last couple of days, and after seeing several articles referring to court settlements, I decided to make sure that I am clear in what I am saying.  I definitely do not want to arouse any litigious bullies with the things that I write (see these two articles for examples of court cases: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/showbiz/showbiznews.html?in_article_id=398025&in_page_id=1773 , and http://www.dailysquib.co.uk/?c=124&a=1146 ).

Everything I have commented on here is documented somewhere else on the web, and I am simply attempting to bring some of it together.

I found out that Paul McKenna is an ex-DJ who became one of the most famous hypnotherapists in the world.  I don’t necessarily expect him to refer to the fact that he was a DJ on his TLC program.  I don’t introduce myself as a former courier (a job I had about 15 years ago) either.  I do find it interesting and a little troubling that he has not been more upfront with the hypnotherapy stuff, though.  It would be like Emmitt Smith referring to himself as a former contestant on Dancing With the Stars instead of a former football player.  Football is what he is famous for.

I also found several stories which derided the legitimacy of his doctorate, but just as many stories that said he was only duped by the university where he received the degree.  And I will say that I have not seen him referred to as “Dr. Paul McKenna” anywhere on the program.

To be fair, it appears that Paul has a large following of people who believe in his program.  There is a lot of positive information about him and his diet available, and it’s not hard to find.

However, there is also a lot of negative information out there.  Since all of this information is on the internet, this may not be surprising either.  Almost everything gets criticized on the internet somewhere.  I will encourage all who read this to explore his ideas on your own, and find out what others on the internet have to say.

As I said in my last posting, I found his tapping bit hokey and weird (https://mycrocosmos.wordpress.com/2008/03/24/i-can-make-you-crazy-with-paul-mckenna/ ), and I have chosen not to participate.  I fear the he will employ more hypnotherapy techniques, and I don’t see myself going for them either.  I do not need to fool my own mind.  I simply need to control myself.  Also, I still criticize him for his choice of experts to back himself up (see the same entry above for info and links regarding these guys).

I want to deal with TLC for a moment.  I went to their website to see what others were saying about this show on their forums, and I was disturbed to find that there was no forum.  There is a forum, in fact there are several.  Most of their shows have some sort of discussion forum, but not Paul McKenna’s show.  In fact, there is a scrolling window that takes you to a one-page advertisement for the show.  On this page, there are several links to topics, and all of these take you to Paul’s own website (away from TLC).  His show does not even show up on the drop-down list of programs on the TLC website.  I began to wonder if he was paying them for the time or they were paying him (I honestly do not know the answer to this question).

Why no forum?  Why would TLC not want to give its viewers a venue for feedback?  I have several suspicions, and all of them leave me most disappointed with TLC.  If TLC were actually interested in this program, they should have done more for it on their website.

McKenna’s site looks like a good way to make him some money.  I clicked on the “Join the Community” link which took me to a page that said cryptically, “Join the club free for only the next few weeks and get great benefits.”  Does this mean that at this point it is free to join the community, so I should, in order to take advantage of the freeness, because one day it will not be free for others?  Or, does it mean that I get two free weeks of membership in the community and then I have to pay for it?  I’m guessing, at some point, I’ll have to pay for these “services.”  I noticed his books are readily available for purchase here also.  I guess I might as well stop smoking while I’m at it (I really don’t smoke and wouldn’t), thanks, TLC.

Paul McKenna Stuff

I Can Make You Thin With Paul McKenna

I Can Make You Crazy With Paul McKenna

Who Is Paul McKenna Anyway?

I Can Make You Thin- Busting Your Carvings

I Can Make You Thin- Supercharge Your Metabolism

I Can Make You Thin, Part 5- Your Perfect Body

Lists

One Response

  1. intresting really

Leave a Reply

