Discipline

Discipline:  You simply will not lose weight without discipline.  Any weight loss program involves changing the way we live our lives, and this takes discipline.

We must be disciplined in several areas from food choice to exercise.  Some of the things I spoke of in the blogs on morale and preparation involve discipline.  To be prepared to cook a good and healthy meal and then actually getting up to cook it requires discipline.  It would be much easier to get the old fast food on the way home from work.

A good diet can be torpedoed easily with a lack of discipline.  Walking past a secretary’s desk and taking one of her candy’s or grabbing a doughnut that someone brought for everyone at the office can almost be a habit, and can be a reflection of our social nature, but these bad decisions can cost you dearly in terms of weight loss.  It’s a reality that you can undo all of the good you have done recently with one bad decision.  Be disciplined.  Make new habits.  Drink the coffee, and leave doughnut.

Recently snack manufacturers have come up with a genius marketing scheme.  They have started offering their products in handy 100 calorie bags.  This looks great on the surface.  Instead of having a 350 calorie bag of cookies, you can buy a box full of bags of smaller cookies that are only 100 calories.  You can have your Oreos (without the filling) for only 100 calories.  I tried this on my last diet, and found that they did not work for me.  The cookies tasted great, but I needed the discipline to turn my back on them totally and realize that I did not need them.  And in the end, all you are doing in eating 100 calories worth of unhealthy food instead of 350.  This sounds OK, but wouldn’t it be much better for you and your diet to eat 100 calories of something that is better for you and more filling?

You also need make disciplined choices when dining out.  I love beef fajitas, and they really are not that bad of a food for a diet, but if I just choose the chicken fajitas instead of the beef, I have made a better, more disciplined choice that will eventually be reflected in my overall weight loss.

Exercise is all about discipline.  Most people who exercise are not fat in the first place.  I don’t know about you, but before I started my weight loss program, I spent a lot of time in front of the television and little time doing anything physical.  It takes discipline to get up off your butt, and move around, and I am doing that now.  I walk during my lunch period at work, I walk around the house while my daughter is napping in the afternoon (it’s as monotonous as it sounds), and I walk on the weekends with my family.  Eventually I plan to turn this into more of a jog, and eventually a run, but I am still a pretty big guy at 297 lbs, and I do not want to damage my knees (this in itself is a kind of discipline.  It takes discipline to go to the park and watch all of the ladies there going right by you because you are too big to jog as they do).

It is true what they say, the things that you discipline yourself to do will eventually turn into a habit.  I already feel weird and jittery if I have not had time to exercise on a given day, and I have no problem searching out the good choices on a menu.

Update: As of today, I have lost 62 pounds in ten weeks.  This week’s total loss was six pounds, and that puts me at 297 lbs.  I achieved two goals I hit the 60 pound lost mark, and am now under 300 lbs.

One Response

  1. YOUR AN IDIOT AMERICAN IDOL IS WORST GARBAGE IN THE WORLD THE MOST UNTALENTED PATHETIC SINGERS EVER. AND YOU HAVE NEVER TO CRITICIZE ANNIE LENNOX THE GREATEST SINGER ON THE PLANET. THEY SHOULD BE HAPPY SHE GRACED THE STAGE WITH HER TALENT.

Leave a Reply

