Preparation

Preparation is one of the easiest things to ignore on any weight loss program, and it is one of the most difficult things to keep up with.  However, it is essential.  Preparation makes the difficult, time consuming things easier in the long run.

As I mentioned earlier, my wife and I work different shifts.  This adds to the difficulty, but it keeps us from having to put the baby in daycare for eight hours a day (not something that I even want to think about).

I mentioned earlier that I am cooking meals for the week on the weekend.  This is part of preparation.  It allows us to have good, healthy, filling meals that are not too expensive.  Diets can be very expensive.  Pre-made diet meals are often small and almost always expensively priced.  Honestly, I can’t afford to go on Nutri-system, for example.  And, I’m not trying to pick a fight with all of you Nutri-system believers out there.  I just think I can cook better, cheaper and more filling things for myself.

The key is being prepared.  It’s a lot easier and less time consuming to cook meals if you already have the ingredients for the things you want to prepare on hand.  For this reason, I think ahead.  I keep track of the items that we are out of, or that I use while cooking.  On the way home, or on my lunch, I will pick up the things I need for the weekend (luckily I have access to a refrigerator and freezer at work).

I also make sure that I have time to cook on the weekends.  The same goes for exercise.  If you do not prepare to have a time to work out, you probably will not find time for one.  Being prepared takes many of the complications out of a weight loss program, and will help lead you to success.

Leave a Reply

