Idol Wastes Another Hour of My Life

Find my latest American Idol article here.

When I decided to blog about American Idol, I felt as if I was making a commitment.  If people are going to be nice enough to read my opinions on Idol, I am going to try and deliver on a regular basis.  This has led me to modify my Idol viewing habits.  In past years, I have made it a point to only watch the last few minutes of the results show (thank you DVR).  This year I felt that if I was going to be writing about Idol, I should actually be watching Idol.  So last night I allowed American Idol to strip me of a full hour of my life while giving me little to nothing in return.  It’s clear that the producers of the show are continually searching for a way to make this show relevant, but it is amazing that each and every thing that they try is a worse idea than the last.

Far from giving anything back, especially to its audience, Idol is in the business of taking.  They take as much money as they can.  I’m not against them making a ton of money.  They are one of the biggest shows in the history of television, and they deserve it.  I am against them exploiting a loyal audience in order to make even more money.

I’m sure they already make “superbowlean” money for the spots that they sell, and they tend to squeeze a couple of more spots in than most shows, but the cross-promotion during the show itself goes too far.  I don’t even mind seeing Coca Cola on everything in the set or hearing Kodak every time they talk about the venue, but beating me to death with the Horton movie four times during an hour was ridiculous.  The opening animated montage was confusing, Jim Carey was an unfunny waste of time both times he was on camera, and the Horton/photo-shoot sequence was one of the most pointless parts of the evening.

They need to either spend more time on the group song or cut it.  I found the montage of massacred Beatles’ songs unlistenable, and it was pretty obvious that even Michael Johns did not was to hear his attempts at harmony (I’m not just throwing him under the bus, this was a group train-wreck).  I am sure that preparing for these presentations involves a lot of time (just as running them all over God’s green earth with cameras does), but if there is not enough time to put out a decent product, then scrap it.  I would much rather see the contestants given more personal time to work on their own presentations.  This would probably be a lift to the competition.

The most irritating waste of time in the history of Idol was the “On the Air With Idol” segment.”  Someone on that show should have known better than to ever bring that idea to the air.  If that it the best thing the producer can come up with, then its time for a new producer.

Even the pre-screened questions were bad.  Why would you ever ask Jason Castro a hypothetical?  I was expecting the answer to be “pot” regardless of the question.  But it got worse when they asked Paula, of all people an impromptu question (I expected to see smoke coming out of her ears).  When asked the question, “What should I do to make the top 24?”  Her answer was, “Keep…singing right straight to Simon….Right now.”  Then she held her palms out with a smug look on her face as if she had made a witty retort.  Please, please Idol, never do this segment again.

Katharine McPhee was the one good standout segment of the night, but she, as a musical guest on the show, was a rare highlight (see Kenny Rogers for a good example of most Idol guests).  She looks great (She must have finally had that baby she was carrying a couple of years ago, because she no longer looks pregnant- Ouch.  I really meant that as a compliment.  She’s hot now.), and her vocal was on par with some of her best Idol performances.  My only criticism of her was that she worked the stage like a tree stump.  You can move a little, even with a slow song.

Finally, after paring the contestants down to the bottom three, Ryan turned to the judges for a bit of wisdom.  Attempting to get wisdom out of Paula must be like trying to wring pretty out of Juliette Lewis, it just ain’t happening.  For all of you English majors out there, your final exam will be to diagram Paula’s response to Ryan’s question.

Paula, “My head right now is at, uh…I want to say, first and foremost, I’ve never seen a more stronger bottom three.  That’s the truth.”  Then she added, “It is difficult.  This is by far, I mean the whole country’s talking…[something unintelligible, then I think the next word was supposed to be a slurred ‘guys’], (g)uys are…superior this whole season.  So did America get it right?  It’s pretty much yes what they did.  Pretty much is what the three of us talked about would probably happen.”  I swear MS Word did not flag this for grammar once, so what the hell do I know.  Wow.

In the end, David Hernandez was shown the door.  His terrible performance from Tuesday, together with his seedy off the show revelations were enough to do him in.  This further separates Archuleta (assuming this week’s performance was an aberration) and Smithson from the rest of the field.

I am not going to simply criticize the results show without offering a solution.  My solution is to do what the spin-off show American Band did this summer.  They waited until the following week, put all of the contestants in a room, and if your name got called, you were still in the competition and got to sing, if not you waited until the last group’s name was called and then you were sent packing.  That was a genius idea, and is a true way for Idol to give back by giving me back an hour of my life.

  

2 Responses

  1. […] a little about Idol taking liberties with its audience after last week’s show (see the posting https://mycrocosmos.wordpress.com/2008/03/13/idol-wastes-another-hour-of-my-life/ ), but there always seems to be more that I hate about the results […]

  2. […] Idol Results Show, March 26th I have had my say about the waste of time that the results show is on two other posts, so I will lay off griping about segments like “On the Air With Idol” this week.  My opinions have not changed, and if you would like to see them please see my other posts regarding the results show for the past two weeks (https://mycrocosmos.wordpress.com/2008/03/13/idol-wastes-another-hour-of-my-life/ […]

Leave a Reply

